Skip to content

Counterfeit Smiles

April 29, 2017

Sean Michael, November, 2011

I WANTED TO APOLOGIZE FOR ALL MY LIES
I’VE BECOME WHAT I DESPISE
OH MY GOD!!
WHERE’S MY DADDY AT ?
PROBABLY SMOKIN CRACK
OR GETTING SMACKED BACK
WHAT TYPE OF LIFE IS THAT?
WHERES YOUR FAMILY AT?
MATTER OF FACT
THE WELFARE CHECK IS GONE
WENT STRAIGHT TO THE VEINS
WHITE CLOUDS TO THE BRAIN
AND I’M HUNGRY MAN
GOTTA COME UP WITH A NEW PLAN
MAMA YOU NEED ANOTHER MAN
ONE THAT CAN SEE THE GRAND SCEME OF THINGS
SOMETIMES I FEEL LIKE EVERYTHING I’M SAYING
DOESN’T EVEN MEAN A THING
PUT ON MY TOUGH FACE CUZ I DON’T FEAR A THING
BUT INSIDE I’M TREMBLING LIKE A CHILD
MY MIND IS RUNNING WILD
PUT ON A MASK AND FLASH EM…
COUNTERFEIT SMILES…

From → BLOG, Early Poetry

One Comment
  1. Moving poem, grandson. Why all caps? What’s the message there that I’m missing?

    Like

Leave a Reply

