Skip to content

A Privilege and A Gift

March 14, 2017

The word prison almost always brings with it a negative connotation, but please allow me to share with you some of the positive things that I’ve been trying to do. I have traded in crime for college courses, and I have traded in drugs to become the co-facilitator of a self-help group designed to aid in the recovery of criminals and gang members who wish to break the cycle of addiction.

I have published several short stories and poems in magazines, as well as in my book, Stygian, and I am currently working on several more projects. Most recently, I’ve become involved with a program called “Prison Letters for our Struggling Youth,” whose mission is to take the honest and sincere writings of prisoners and share them with “at-risk” youth with the hope of effecting positive change in their lives.

My personal mission is to use my gift of the written word and touch even one life to help someone get through the same tragedies I experienced as a child. I’ve finished my autobiography Lost Child, Broken Man which shares these events and poses the question of redemption. I am currently working on a novel called Broken Homes, and I have started a non-fiction booklet about the realities of gangs, drugs, crimes, and prison.

To effectively complete these tasks and touch the lives of others, I need the requisite supplies, such as typewriter ribbons and white-out, paper and pens, journals, postage, and money to purchase author’s copies of the books for donations and giveaways. Any money I earn from sales will be reinvested in supplies and in marketing and promotion.

By purchasing a copy of Stygian, you will have invested your money not only in a good read but also in me, so that I may expand my gift of the written word. None of us can ever change the world, but we can make changes ourselves and help others who need change. As long as I am able to think and write, I will continue to do so, and I will do it to put a smile on another person’s face, give them something to relate to, shock them, inform them, or scare their socks off (I love Horror). Because, in the wise words of Amy Tan, “Writing is an extreme privilege, but it is also a gift. It’s a gift to yourself and the gift of giving a story to someone.”

I thank you for your time and consideration. May the rest of your day be awesome.

THE MAD POET

From → BLOG

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

