Skip to content

The Responsibility of an Artist

February 5, 2017

Do artists have a responsibility to make a point teach a lesson, be amusing, do anything at all?

You can bet your last damn dollar we do!

I’ve been drawing a little bit lately and practicing on my guitar. Writing as well, of course. I feel that as an artist it is my responsibility, goal, mission, and purpose to capture the mood and the moment, to record important events that I see, hear, and experience, and to convey an idea and emotion.

My hope is to be inspiring, make someone laugh, cry, empathize. I also love writing scary, dark stuff too and, when I do, I hope to freak a few people out.

I have fun writing and I ope you enjoy reading what I write. I have had this blog for a few years and haven’t yet been able to create a large “fan base,” or get tons of responses, but I am very grateful for the opportunity to share and the feed back I do receive.

Still, I wonder sometimes if I’m fulfilling my responsibilities. I am trying.

Sean2

From → BLOG

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

