Skip to content

Warlords

October 20, 2016

Sean Michael, October 2016

A young girl dreams to learn.
As the school is firebombed and burned,
she’s stolen from her village.
Warlords rape, plunder and pillage.

Boy soldiers of only twelve,
leave behind a trail of AK-47 shells.
Brainwashed and trained to kill,
mass graves are dug and filled.

A value is placed on life at auction.
As slave approaches master with caution
to live is death and to die is to be free,
untethered from the chains of misery.

Warlords drink the blood of innocents from a chalice.
A country withers in poverty below their palace.
Lifestyles of monsters, murderers, and kings,
it’s in the scorpion’s nature to sting.

Exploiting the hearts of the youth,
disposed of when of no further use.
A genocide exsanguinates the land,
as the hourglass runs out of sand.
Posted for  dVerse Poets, Open Link Night #182, October 20, 2016

 

From → BLOG, Poetry

16 Comments
  1. Great poem.

    Like

  2. Man, this is awesome!

    Here’s my favorite part:

    “Lifestyles of monsters, murderers, and kings,
    it’s in the scorpion’s nature to sting.”

    Like

    • Thank you. I’m glad you enjoyed the poem. This is one that came to me late at night, and I couldn’t sleep until I started writing it.

      Like

  3. Well written!

    Like

  4. as the hourglass runs out of sand… makes me feel there is so much to fix and surely time is running out for so many..sadly.

    Like

    • I agree that it seems there’s so much to do and time is running out. We won’t be able to completely fix the world, but we can do the best we can while we’re here.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. So powerfully expressed, Sean.

    Like

  6. There’s a word I’m looking for – something to do with annihilation. I wonder how we carry on.

    Like

  7. I do love the Aesop scorpion references… love haw you expressed the terrible impact of the violence foodchain from the bottom and up… I even wonder if also the war-lords are puppets sometimes.

    Like

  8. There’s always a part of humanity that chooses the dark side to express itself. Now, I’ve come to know that many haven’t chosen that path, it’s been chosen for them. This is so dark and gritty but told so eloquently, Sean.

    Like

  9. Disturbing realities exposed in this form poem. I learned a new word, “exsanguinates”.

    Like

    • I’ve known “sanguinary” for a a long time, but “exsanguinate” is relatively new to me too. I’m happy i found such a good way to use it.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. So sad this is happening Sean ~ My heart goes out to those slaves ~

    Like

Leave a Reply

