Skip to content

Dreaming Aloud

September 7, 2015

by Sean Michael, 2008

He plots in his sleep
To kill another man
A deranged conversation
At times incoherent
But the plan is clear
Someone is going to die
. . .

He awakens with watery eyes
And mutters, quickly wiping away the tears
He was dreaming of something
He can’t quite remember
He searches the blankness of his mind
But finds nothing
. . .

He’s in a fight
Or maybe getting beat by a drunken dad
I’m not sure
But I can hear him from the next cell
“Alright, that’s enough, leave me alone.”
. . .

My first couple of months in county jail
And in prison
I couldn’t sleep
Now I dream
And I wonder if I do it aloud…

From → BLOG, Early Poetry

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

