Skip to content

The Wrong Toolbox

February 28, 2015

I.
I can build lovely palaces with these hands
In beauty and splendor they standcarpenter
The gleam in my eye
My pride and joy
These bloody palms
These bruised knuckles
Hands that labored hard

II.
Healed now
With lovely scars to adorn the flesh
Rested and well there is plenty of work to do
And I’ve the tools (of a fool)
The sledgehammer of anger, the jigsaw of pain
The wrecking ball of insecurity
The dagger of fear

III.
Standing amidst the rubble of what was
And what should never be
Blood, sweat and tears pouring from my body
Upon the foundation of my failure
A sacrifice to my monument of regret
Bruised and scarred and broken
Hands that labored hard.

Posted for  dVerse Poets, Open Link Night, February 28, 2015

From → BLOG, Poetry

22 Comments
  1. i hope that in the after that your hands can be used for good
    and not be chained by that regret…and the tools of what
    was.

    Like

    • Yes, sir, I’ve learned that some of these tools can be used to bold as well. If I can gain control of my anger and channel it, my pain. It’s the fear and insecurity with which I do so much damage. But maybe even those can be used to build.

      Like

  2. Great use of tool metaphors there – and the fears, the scars, creation itself…

    Like

    • Thank you, in the words of the Red Hot Chili Peppers, “Destruction leads to a very rough road, but it also breeds creation…” Maybe I can build again.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. The lovely scars….oh, how I hope the speaker will build more, to build things that are good and last with time.

    Like

  4. The way you used those tools what sense of weariness in loss you pour into your words. The cadence here is especially nice..

    Like

  5. It’s sad we use our wits to tear down rather than build up.

    Like

  6. Fantastic metaphor and poem!

    Like

  7. "Sweet One" permalink

    Beautiful, as always

    Like

    • My heart just leapt to see you here. I miss you a lot. I’m glad you like this poem, because you have inspired me a lot since coming into my life. Today I got my pictures back, and I am looking at you right now. Beautiful, as always.

      Like

  8. Tools and everything else are wonderful metaphors here .

    in state, faithful lying

    Like

  9. “Standing amidst the rubble of what was
    And what should never be”

    That is an intense and powerful statement, filled with a sense of regret and loss. Loved your metaphor in this. Hopefully more building up than tearing down in your own heart!

    Like

    • Ever listen to Led Zeplin? I kind of borrowed this idea from them with this, providing a new context. It felt powerful to me too.

      Like

  10. be proud of those scars and move forward… some cut so deep, they don’t get a chance to heal if ya know what I mean… great use of metaphor

    Like

    • I do know what you mean. Hard for a boy like me not to be proud of his scars. Cuts, scrapes, black eyes, they’re all badges of bravery and toughness.

      Like

  11. “The sledgehammer of anger, the jigsaw of pain
    The wrecking ball of insecurity
    The dagger of fear”
    These are some powerful lines!

    Like

  12. hypercryptical permalink

    Great use of metaphor. Sometimes we humans are very destructive, destroy the things we love. Yet we have the ability to learn from mistakes and build again.
    Kind regards
    Anna :o]

    Like

  13. Snakypoet (Rosemary Nissen-Wade) permalink

    Knowing the wrong tools for what they are could help to locate the right ones.

    Like

Leave a Reply

