Skip to content

In the Blink of an Eye

October 29, 2014

Sean Michael, October 16, 2014

I. A proud father stands on the porch, infant in his arms, breathing in the cool
evening air.

Welcome to this world, my precious newborn.
These are the stars. See how they shine for you?
In the distance…

Pop! Pop! Pop!

Like the sound of firecrackers…

II. Five hundred yards away, oblivious to the scene on the porch, a young vato is shooting gun
“putting in work” for his gang.

The shots roar like thunder from the barrel of his gun.

Not one strikes down his enemy.

In the distance…

“Hmm, hmm, hmm”

A father hums to his daughter…

III. What is the speed of a bullet?
The blink of an eye?

In the blink of an eye,
A stray bullet pierces the infant’s head
A silent,
Instantaneous
Death.

In the blink of an eye,,
just the blink of an eye.

Blink…
Blink…
Blink…
Blink…
Blink…

From → BLOG, Poetry

3 Comments
  1. Very sad. A five-year-old was shot and killed here yesterday. She was sitting in her grandparents’ home watching television. Someone shot12 bullets into the house. Why?

    Like

  2. Hearing about this latest incident made me cry, and all while listening to some very happy Led Zeppelin music. I’m so sorry to hear about that. It breaks my heart. I don’t understand it, and to think, I once wanted to be a tough, gun-toting gangster. I wouldn’t be able to live with myself if something like that happened to me. I will pray for that child, that family, that community, and whoever pulled that trigger.

    My case was not gang-related, and though I was charged with 1st degree murder, the death was accidental, and I do feel like dirt for it. The DA called me selfish and said I don’t care about anyone but myself. She was wrong, though at the time, I was selfish and not thinking about others. Being a gangster is stupid. Shooting a gun at somebody’s house is stupid. I thank God that he’s given me perspective, that he’s allowed me to find myself.

    Thank you, Mary for your comment. I wish I could go rally and protest against this sort of senselessness.

    Like

  3. Admiring the persistence you put into your blog and in depth information you present.
    It’s awesome to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same out of date rehashed information. Fantastic read!

    I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google
    account.

    Like

Leave a Reply

