Skip to content

To Protect and Serve

October 20, 2014

Police officers… I always thought they should at least receive the same sentence a civilian would, if they rape or murder, but it seems to me, they almost always go easy on the cop. I can’t figure out why. Because they took an oath to uphold the law? To protect and serve? But they broke that oath. Because they had good intentions when they started? Everyone had good intentions when born. Because they were once a good cop who did a lot of good things? I was once a good person who did a lot of good things. But then I did a bad thing. I was shown no pity, no mercy, no leniency in the eyes of the law. I was quickly sentenced to the maximum time, 25 to life. But when a cop does a bad thing, people think it was a mistake, right? The cop just slipped up, right? The cop has a better chance of rehabilitation and reintegration into society, right?

Following is a poem I wrote, a sort of satirical piece. For the life of me, I can’t understand why two cops rape multiple women and receive a six year sentence, or why I accidentally kill someone, and am sentenced as a first-degree murderer, now serving 25 to life. Please share your thought on this, along with any similar cases you know of.

To Protect and Serve

“On my honor,
I will never betray my badge
my integrity, my character,
or the public trust.
I will always have
the courage to hold myself
and others accountable for our actions.
I will always uphold the law,
my community, and the agency I serve.”

A golden shield
A symbol of valor integrity, dignity
A symbol of power and authority

A golden shield0
A get out of jail free card
An elicitor of pity and sympathy

In the cover of night
From 18 feet away
A black teenager is shot

“He reached for my gun, I feared for my safety.”
(From 18 feet away? I wonder. A real head scratcher.)

But that’ll work
Black ’n’ White
Only what’s written matters
Not the loss of life
A community shattered

Suspended with pay until the paperwork is finished.
(Yeah, make sure it’s neat!)

A life diminished
A killer cop back on the street
Partners in crime patrol the streets
They pull a car over for breaking the speed limit
A pretty brunette sits up front
In the back’s an empty car seat
The cop plants a bag of meth
“you’re going to jail, if you don’t give us sex.”
You’ll lose your kids, your job, everything.”

(What can she do? Remember, the one with the
badge does the paperwork.)

They do it again and again
Until finally they’re caught
Six years
That’s all they got.

(Well… what’d you expect? They’re cops.)

A golden shield
A symbol of valor integrity, dignity
A symbol of power and authority

A golden shield
A get out of jail free card
A license to rape and kill.

“On my honor,
I will never betray my badge
my integrity, my character,
or the public trust.
I will always have
the courage to hold myself
and others accountable for our actions.
I will always uphold the law,
my community, and the agency I serve.”

From → BLOG, Poetry

2 Comments
  1. Samantha permalink

    I don’t understand why things happen, why they get LET happen, or how the people who let them happen can even be that way, or how cops can live with themselves sometimes, the ones that act like demons taking their evil trips out on even innocent people, who ARENT doing anything wrong.

    Like

  2. I know. One time, I was “loitering” on a public bench at about 10 PM looking at a picture behind a window in a building, and some cops told me to . So, being a smart ass, I went across the street and said, “You can’t make me move from here!” So they crossed the strew too and hit me with their batons. Luckily, I was wearing a sweater and a coat, so it wasn’t too bad. I didn’t get arrested either.

    Like

Leave a Reply

