Skip to content

STYGIAN

August 21, 2014

Stygian is an archaic word meaning dark and forbidding. When I discovered this word, I knew it was the one to use as a title for my book of poetry. I had slapped several cheap labels on my collection of poems as it grew, shrank, and shifted, before I found the word stygian. It perfectly describes the poetry I have written for the book, and is also a very cool word.

Stygian grew from a chapbook into a full collection over the last year and a half or so. Not only that, but the manuscript has been lost twice due to “complications” at the prison. Some of the poems were never recovered, though I still search the crevasses, corners, confines, archives of my mind in spare moments when I’m not working on new stuff. I have quite a few lyrics memorized, but not all.  Over the last year and a half, I’ve also added several illustrations to the collection, and I finally feel the book is complete—everything in the place I want.

Tonight, I’ve signed the query and soon the manuscript will be in the hands of the publisher I chose to send it to first. If it is rejected, I have a few other publishers to try. I find the “Writer’s Market 2014” helpful in this regard.

Wish me well…

From → BLOG

One Comment
  1. Samantha White permalink

    I love you.miss you

    Like

Leave a Reply

