Skip to content
Tags

Megadeth

October 19, 2013

13-10-19 Megadeth

MegadethDave Mustaine started out as the lead guitarist of Metallica, but was kicked out of the before the release of their first album, “Kill ‘Em All.” He then created his own band called Megadeth.

Megadeth immediately went to work on their first album, to be called “Peace Sells…But Who’s Buying?” They had very little money and what they did have was spent on drugs and food, so it was difficult to create a clean, quality sound for the album. Nevertheless, that album did very well, and, in Mustaine’s own words, is one of the most respected metal albums of all times. Despite this lack of modesty, no matter how many albums Megadeth sold or how many show sold out, Mustaine, for some reason, never stopped comparing the success of his band to the success of Metallica.

As a fan of Heavy Metal music, I find Mustaine’s parting with Metallica to have been a blessing in disguise, because now I get to listen to Megadeth. Mustaine’s lyrics are intelligent and passionate, and his voice is pure rock ‘n’ roll. He writes most of the lyrics for Megadeth, performs all the vocals and is one of the lead/rhythm guitarists of the band He is also one of the only remaining original members of the band. Apparently, he is a difficult person to deal/work with. I speculate fastidious and hot-tempered. I know that as an artist these are two qualities/burdens of my own. The difference between Mustaine and me is he is a fifth degree black belt. Well, actually, there are a lot of differences between him and me; nevertheless, his lyrics speak to me and sometimes for me. For instance, when he says: “There’s a war inside my head, if I take a day off I’ll be dead.” Hit the nail of truth right on the head for me.

Mustaine’s lyrics can be political, self-examining, speaking of wars overseas, his own internal conflicts. Like any good songwriter he pours himself through the pen.

Dave Mustaine is a Christian now and lives in San Diego. He won’t perform a lot of his older songs such as “Good Mourning/Black Friday,” which is about a dude who wakes up one morning and realizes he’s a homicidal maniac. .. “I don’t feel so good…Something’s coming over me…I hack my victims…” It’s against his faith. He’s still an amazing artist; he still puts out a lot of good music–songs such as “Pearly Gates” and “Pennies on Your Eyes.” These are actually two of my favorites, along with “Angry Again,” “A Toute Le Monde,” and “Sweating Bullets…” You get the idea.

Megadeth is one of the four horsemen who lead the way for Heavy Metal music along with Metallica, Slayer, and Anthrax. Megadeth is immortal.

I remember one time when I was riding the bus, a young couple was arguing about money. She was saying “Well, we’d have more money if you hadn’t spent $20 on that Megadeth shirt you’re wearing.” He seemed at a loss for a response, like he didn’t wanna piss her off. So, I said, “Hey, I’m not trying to piss anybody off, but that is a bad ass shirt.” He sort of smirked, and she gave a look. You know, one of those looks women give. But I had to help him out; man, Megadeth is one of my favorite bands.

Dave-Mustaine

From → BLOG

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

