Skip to content

Death and I Flirt

July 3, 2013

The thought of death is like a razor, pristine and sharp,
awaiting the taste of blood on it edge.
The thought of death is like a bullet, reposed in the chamber of a gun,
pressed against my head.
The thought of death is like a sturdy rope, twisted into an expert
hangman’s noose.
The thought of death is like fifty pills rattling in a bottle,
like a full syringe, glistening needle.
The thought of death is like a high bridge, breeze caressing my face,
feet precarious on the ledge.
The thought of death is like silk sheets on a neatly made bed.
The thought of death is clearer than before,
Beginning to make sense
The thought of death has taken my mind as its dwelling place…

I like to think of death as a “her.”
A woman with a pretty body and pretty face.

Dream & Death  by Neil Caiman, The Sandman

Dream & Death by Neil Caiman, The Sandman

Irresistible, no need to tempt me.
I sip my wine, and we flirt.
Death is a gentle yet powerful woman!
Capable of soothing the hurt.
I’ll make love to her in utter agony and ecstasy.
And as I fade, she’ll gently brush my eyelids shut,
leave her resounding kiss upon me…

She is one of those women who seem to grow more lovely with each passing day.

From → BLOG, Poetry

3 Comments
  1. Great poem! I enjoyed your metaphors! The only thing I would say is that “the thought of death” became redundant, I think this would have an awesome flow if maybe “the thought of death” was only used every other sentence. Anyways, great job! I enjoyed this!

    Like

    • Thanks for your comment and critique. I rewrote the poem according to your advice and like it! I originally thought this was a place where redundancy actually worked. Anyway, I reposted it today so check it out and see if you like it better.

      Like

Leave a Reply

