Skip to content

Reading

March 9, 2013

I’m sure that you writers have heard that we read as much, if not more, as we write. Reading is beneficial in so many ways for those who write and those who don’t. You can expand your vocabulary by looking up words you do not know. Once, when I was in the hospital recovering from severe brain trauma, it was suggested that I read as it would help me with my memory.

Authors reading other authors allows you to experience new voices and styles.

Well, lately, I’ve had hell trying to find a good book that interests me and keeps my interest. Luckily, I heard through the grapevine, there was a copy of The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn floating around and was able to get my hands on it.

I love to write, and reading has helped me become a better writer. I mean, in particular, reading novels, reading about how to write a novel, and reading articles by other writers.

Here is some reading I recommend for writers:
The American Experience: Fiction from MacMillian
The Complete Handbook of Novel Writing from the Editors of Writer’s Digest
Writers’ Market from Writer’s Digest

My suggest reading for the reader this month is The Great Santini by Pat Conroy. Conroy is an author I’ve enjoyed reading and have taken a few writing cues from him.

What books / authors do you recommend? I’m always looking for a good read.

From → BLOG

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

