Skip to content

Immortal Dreams

October 25, 2012

by Sean Michael, June, 2012

I observe the world around me
I hear music falling from the sky
I hear sadness and joy in the melody
The substance of life in this medley
I extend my arms, lifted up high

Surging through my body is all that I’ve ever known
I’ve contemplated death twice today
This overwhelming feeling of love steals my breath away
Reaching, grasping

I have nothing but I have everything
I strum my guitar until the strings are broken
Play my piano until the keys fall out of tune
My lyrics wither until no words are left to be spoken
My song ebbs to a close as my band falls apart
Cymbals crash!

I can’t let this reverie die, buried discreetly in my heart
So dead and still alive…
Immortal dreams

 

Posted at  dVerse Poets, Open Link Night #118

From → Poetry

5 Comments
  1. it’s important that we don’t let our dreams die… don’t let that music fall apart…

    Like

  2. the contrast between contemplating death and feeling the life surge through you is really striking…the duality of our lives…..keep the music rolling…

    Like

  3. love all the contrast and bipolarity here.

    Like

  4. Oh I love this…so passionate….so stirring!

    Like

  5. Love this stanza . . . .

    “I have nothing but I have everything
    I strum my guitar until the strings are broken
    Play my piano until the keys fall out of tune
    My lyrics wither until no words are left to be spoken
    My song ebbs to a close as my band falls apart
    Cymbals crash!”

    Love the contrast between the music of life and the contemplation of death . . . keep the music alive.

    Like

Leave a Reply

